School of Library Archives and Documentation Studies



TLA AND COTUL involvement
The School takes pride in having two of its tutors elected to positions in the two national organisations and these are Irene Saria and Consolatha Joseph Mallya. Irine Saria tutor was elected Deputy Secretary General of the Tanzania Library Association at the recently ended Annual General Meeting of the Association held in Singida in February 2013. Irene Saria is head of the Certificate Studies at the Central Library in dar es Salaam.

Consolatha Joseph Mallya has been appointed to the ICT Committee of COTUL. Ms Mallya is a tutor in Bagamoyo and is the Coordinator of ICT in the School assisted by Mr. Ngowo. The other members on the committee are Bogota Saganda and Paul Muneja is the chairperson of the Committee.

            Changes in staffing
Following retirement of Mr. Hermenegild Maganja as Principal of the School, Mr. Zuberi Hatibu previously Director of Library Services at the National Central Library in Dar es Salaam has been appointed to the post. Mr. Maganja went on his retirement leave with effect from 18 May 2012.  

In his efforts towards improving the administrative capacity in the School the Director General of the Tanzania Library Services Dr. Alli Mcharazo has made further new appointments involving Baralle Shiengo previously the Principal Administrative Officer at the National Central Library in Dar es Salaam who has been appointed Deputy Principal Administration, Finance and Auditing (PFA)

Happiness Stephen who was previously the Academic Officer has been appointed to the post of Deputy Principal - Academics, Research and Consultancy (ARC).

Return from Studies
Ms Faraja Thembo is back from her studies for a Master’s degree in Librarianship. Ms Thembo took her studies at Makerere University in Uganda.

Ms Suzan Gama who was pursuing diploma studies in secretarial services is also back in office. She took her studies at the Tanzania Public Services College Mtwara campus. Her new title is Office Management Secretary

Developments in Infrastructure
ICT – The School has had a boost in its ICT capacity through aid from the Tanzania Education Authority which comprises of 25 new computers, a scanner, printer and two TV sets for the Students hall and also the Staff room. The arrival of 25 computers adds to the already existing 15 computers which were donated by UNESCO.

A new building for female students’ hostel has been completed. The hostel has capacity to accommodate 64 female students and it is ready for use with effect from the new academic year which starts on 3 September 2012 

Home  |   About us  |   Programmes   | Life at SLADS
News & Features  |    Face book  |  Useful Links  |   Contact Us  |  TLSB Website